AG Shapiro Announces 10 More Counties Are Signing Up For Billion Dollar Opioid Settlement – PA prosecutors

So far, 60 districts have signed the historical settlement, and the funds will start flowing in April 2022

HARRISBURGAttorney General Josh Shapiro announced today that 10 more counties of Pennsylvania have joined the historic national opioid settlement, bringing the total to 60 of 67 counties in the Commonwealth. These 10 counties include: Blair, Center, Crawford, Cumberland, Lycoming, Northampton, Northumberland, Pike, Somerset, and Sullivan.

“I am encouraged to see so many counties join this historic agreement that will bring millions of dollars in resources to combat this crisis as early as next year. There is still time for the remaining local governments to join, and I urge them to do so. This settlement will give the communities the opportunity and the resources to save lives now, “said Attorney General Josh Shapiro.

In July, the $ 26 billion global deal with Cardinal, McKesson and AmerisourceBergen – the country’s three largest pharmaceutical distributors – and Johnson & Johnson was announced. The national registration deadline for local governments was recently extended from January 2 to January 26, giving local governments a grace period to hold the necessary meetings to vote on joining the settlement. This grace period does not affect the schedule for starting cash flow to participating states and local governments.

“The opioid epidemic has devastated families and communities. It destroyed the bright future of loved ones. In her memory and honor, we can offer help and opportunity to those who struggle now. The opioid settlement run by Attorney General Shapiro gives us hope and renews our mission to heal together. The comparison enables Center County, and so many other rural communities in the Commonwealth, to deliver targeted prevention, enhanced treatment, and deeper compassion to those who need them most. Let us never doubt Pennsylvania’s resilience and determination to serve those in need, “said Michael Pipe, chairman of the Center County Board of Commissioners.

“The resources provided by the settlement will enable Cumberland County to continue fighting the opioid crisis,” said Gary Eichelberger, commissioner for Cumberland County. “Over the past five years, Cumberland County has recorded 297 deaths from opioid overdoses, and more than 113 of those deaths have occurred since the COVID outbreak. The pandemic is having a devastating impact on our residents who are struggling with opioid addiction. As we continue the opioid battle, we will be able to use the funds to save lives. Cumberland County and its parishes of 10,000 people or more are proud to be part of this historic settlement. “

While it is up to the local governments that joined the settlement to decide where the funds will ultimately be allocated, the settlement provides that the dollars received must be used to tackle the opioid crisis. A list of approved opioid remediation uses can be found in Appendix E of the Janssen Agreement. The remaining 7 counties and outstanding subdivisions have until January 26th to register and are encouraged to do so ASAP.

The following counties have signed up to the settlement agreement: Adams, Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Berks, Blair, Bradford, Bucks, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Carbon, Center, Chester, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Crawford, Cumberland, Dauphin , Delaware, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lancaster, Lawrence, Lebanon, Alfalfa, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry , Pike, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland and York.

# # #

Comments are closed.