AG Shapiro announces that 75% of the counties of Pennsylvania, including Allegheny and Montgomery, are so far part of a billion dollar opioid deal

More counties are expected to join the settlement, which will raise up to $ 232 million by 2022

HARRISBURGAttorney General Josh Shapiro announced today that 50 counties, including 5 of the 6 largest counties in the Commonwealth, have agreed to join the historic opioid agreement that will raise more than $ 1 billion and up to $ 232 million in Pennsylvania Year 2022 would deliver.

“Pennsylvania lost 5,172 lives to overdose in the last year alone, that’s 14 Pennsylvanians a day. This settlement will provide resources to launch programs that will change life and affect families in our Commonwealth who are struggling to find treatment and help for those suffering from substance abuse. These funds will be dedicated to providing and expanding life-saving treatment options, prioritizing the areas hardest hit by this crisis, “said Attorney General Josh Shapiro.

The $ 26 billion global deal with Cardinal, McKesson and AmerisourceBergen – the country’s three largest pharmaceutical distributors – and Johnson & Johnson will require significant industry changes in addition to funds that will help prevent this type of crisis from occurring occurs again. Pennsylvania was a leading state in negotiating this deal, announced in July.

“When the county filed its lawsuit in May 2018, we wanted two things: to prevent these and other similar companies from getting involved in the acts and practices that led to the opioid crisis and being able to benefit communities and families to provide additional resources “in our county most affected by their actions,” said Rich Fitzgerald, executive of Allegheny County. “The settlement agreement reached by Attorney General Shapiro and several other states sees significant industry changes and up to $ 1 billion for Pennsylvania. We want our residents to benefit from this agreement and have resources now available to them and intend to join. “

“Delaware County has worked hard to ensure that its portion of the state’s settlement proceeds reflects the many challenges the opioid epidemic poses to the county,” said Delaware City Councilor and Substance Treatment and Overdose Prevention Coalition member Kevin Madden. “While no money could ever really explain the lives that opioids have ruined, these settlement funds, which will be received over the next decade and beyond, will allow the county to educate its citizens and help fight the scourge of opioid abuse and the the devastation caused by this to fix thousands of residents and their loved ones. “

While it is up to the local governments that joined the settlement to decide where the funds will ultimately be allocated, the settlement provides that every dollar of the funds must be used to tackle the opioid crisis. A list of approved opioid remediation uses can be found in Appendix E of the Janssen Agreement. The remaining 17 counties and several subdivisions have until next month to register and are encouraged to do so as soon as possible.

“Litigation is incredibly risky to continue, as we’ve seen in Oklahoma, where a $ 465 million judgment was overturned by the state Supreme Court after years of appeal, and in California, where a number of counties and cities have theirs Case after seven years have lost court. We cannot afford to wait – we need these funds, which are now flowing into our churches. We know that no dollar amount will bring back everything we lost, but this comparison will now give churches the money to save lives, ”said AG Shapiro.

The following counties have signed up to the settlement agreement: Adams, Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Berks, Bradford, Bucks, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Carbon, Chester, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Dauphin, Delaware, Elk, Erie, Fayette , Franklin, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lancaster, Lawrence, Lebanon, Alfalfa, McKean, Mercer, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Perry, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Warren , Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland and York.

# # #

Comments are closed.